top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDhwani Mundra

Creating Souvenirs - Inspired by Indian Dance Forms

Updated: May 12


Other than Indian space exploration: Branding & Souvenirs for the client, Indic Inspirations, I also contributed to their Indian Dance: Souvenirs through which they wanted to create a collection based on different classical dance forms of India.


Having background in learning Bharatnatyam in my childhood years helped me do this project a lot more confidently. I was aware of the different forms of classical dances practiced in India and also knew the different Hasta Mudras (Hand gestures) in Bharatnatyam.

 

Client Name: Indic Inspirations

Year: 2021

Tags: Product Design, Souvenirs, Design, Gifting, Classical Dances, India.

 

The different Forms of Classical Dances of India


Listing & Moodboarding:

I list out the different forms of Indian classical dances based on my knowledge and created moodbords of several pictures for each of these forms:

  1. Bharatnatyam

  2. Kathak

  3. Kathakali

  4. Kuchipudi

  5. Manipuri

  6. Mohiniattam

  7. Odissi

  8. Sattriya


Source: All images sourced from Google. Credit to owners.



Selection & Tracing

Once the final postures were selected, I traced the lines in Rhino (with help from Hrishikesh Rahigude).

For starters, we experimented how a plaque of dancers of these forms would look and then I explored other souvenir ideas for this collection.


Bharatnatyam | Kathak | Kathakali | Kuchipudi | Manipuri | Mohiniattam | Odissi | Sattriya






Outlining & 3D Modelling

Using Adobe Illustrator, I played around the outline thickness, elements and size of the artwork to be able to laser cut it through a 3mm thick metal.








Creating the base

As part of the design, I created different iterations for the base which transitioned to the final pedestal. A two-piece souvenir - the top dancer profile was imagined to be laser cut from 3mm thick polished brass - which would be inserted & joined in the bottom wood-based pedestal.







Technical Details for Vendor

Technical drawings of entire pieces were created and sent to the vendor for sampling, along with all details of materials and dimensions.








Prototype Sampling

Samples were brought in and studied and necessary changes were made before the finalising the order.



 

हस्त मुद्रा (Hand Gestures)


A similar process was followed for the Hand Mudra collection - pictures for references, tracing and prototype sampling. But having a creative constraint here to make the Hasta Mudra using only steel wire, I was able to practice a little more creativity with this one. Keeping the abstract nature of the piece in mind, I created explorations, mockups to try, test and then proceed to make an artwork using Adobe Illustrator. The technical details of it were then passed on to the vendor.


Source: All images sourced from Google. Credit to owners. (Mudras: Alapadma, Mayura, Kataka-mukha)

Intended form: The Mudra made using wires. The finger tips and center of palm made using coloured wire/woven wire/fabric/metal plate.

Exploratory mock-ups in wires, clay and techniques. (Mudra: Tri-pataka)

Some more visualisations of the other Hasta Mudras on a different base. (Gestures: )


Prototype Sampling

Samples were brought in and studied and necessary changes were made before the finalising the order.


Prototype Samples

An additional piece (middle) was also created using sheet metal and lights requiring a power source.


*Live on the website

You can find some versions of these designs on the Indic Inspirations website.




 

Exploring more Souvenir ideas for the Collection

During that time, I also brainstormed over these forms could be represented through other souvenir ideas.



 

Reflection on experience


This particular project, though very straightforward and familiar in nature, provided me with a valuable opportunity for a nostalgic experience, transporting me back to the days of my childhood when I was learning Bharatnatyam. The moment I was introduced to the collection's concept, I went back to my dance textbooks, recollecting everything that was taught to us.


With the rich and illustrious history, classical dances hold very special and revered place in India. These dances are not merely performances; they are a powerful medium for creative expression and storytelling. Engaging in this project gave me immense pleasure and a profound sense of connection to my cultural roots and I hope the people who collect these souvenirs feel the same!


​Worked on:

  • 3D visualization,

  • 3D modelling,

  • Mockups

  • Material handling,

  • Technical drawings,

  • Prototype sampling,

  • Vendor interaction

Worked with:

  • Rhino,

  • Keyshot,

  • Adobe Illustrator,

  • Adobe Photoshop


 

People to thank!

I am grateful to Yogesh Dandekar for the opportunity, guidance and feedback during this project.


 

Thank you for going through this post 🙏


If you have any thoughts, comment below 👇 to help me understand how you would approach or work on this post differently or present it differently or drop me a message directly 📩

17 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page